Sage Advice Collection

Réponses 1 à 10 sur 680    ·   · 1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   ·  ·   
  Ref  Ouvrage  Question   Reponse 
 1DR117 Dragon #117 Can a cavalier of name level or higher build a castle or other stronghold, then collect revenue from the inhabitants? No rules are given in the class description for handling the situation.  Like fighters, cavaliers are permitted to build strongholds when they reach name level. Given the cavalier’s social standing, such a stronghold would have to be grand and stylish, with a large staff. A cavalier who was born into a noble family might receive a castle and grounds as part of an inheritance, though for game purposes the character should be name level before assuming full control of the estate. Or, if you are using a full medieval European motif for your campaign world, land for a stronghold might be granted by the cavalier ’s liege lord as a reward for good and sufficient service upon reaching name level. The latter method is especially suitable for second sons of noble houses who are not in line for inheritance, and for characters who have worked their way up to cavalier status from common backgrounds. [See also “Feuds and Feudalism,” by John David Dorman, in this issue.] Revenue collected is a matter for the individual DM to decide, based on the campaign economics and the relative wealth of the region. Colonists in a previously unsettled wilderness area cannot produce as much revenue as would be expected from a civilized realm. The structure and economy of the cavalier’s realm should be worked out in detail for an extended campaign, but — for occasional gaming — assume that the cavalier collects double the revenue that a fighter’s freehold would produce. 
 2DR117 Dragon #117 If the fifth-level cleric spell rainbow is used to produce a “flagon,” and the draughts are poured off into separate containers and stoppered, will they retain their dweomer after the flagon and any remaining unpoured draughts disappear?  No. All draughts not actually consumed before the spell duration expires will disappear, regardless of whether or not they have been poured off. They cannot be saved for later use. 
 3DR117 Dragon #117 The second-level cleric spell withdraw can be negated by certain uses of other spells while it is in effect. Is the withdraw negated as soon as the caster begins reciting the unauthorized spell, or as soon as it is complete? Also, does this ruin the unauthorized spell or not?  According to the spell description, the caster is unable to perform any actions except those specified while a withdraw is in effect. The restriction applies to casting one of the spells normally permitted on someone other than the caster. The example given is cure light wounds, a touchdelivered spell. The cleric is permitted to cast this spell while the withdraw is in effect. But, if he then chooses to deliver the curing to anyone save himself, the withdraw effect ends. It is the use of the indicated spells which is restricted, not the actual casting; therefore, the withdraw ends after the casting is complete in any case, and sometimes still later, in the case of a touch-delivered spell. The spell which caused the withdraw to end takes effect normally, and is not ruined. 
 4DR117 Dragon #117 Can the illusionist cantrip rainbow be used as a material component for the 5th-level cleric spell rainbow?  Yes. The cantrip creates a shimmering band of light which exactly duplicates a rainbow, and the cleric spell specifies only that the caster must be within sight of a rainbow of any sort. There is no reason why the two dweomers should not be able to work in conjunction. 
 5DR117 Dragon #117 Should the first-level druidic spell ceremony read in part, “druidic ceremonies include the following, which can be cast by a druid of the indicated or lower level,” as it actually does on page 41, or should it read as the description for the clerical ceremony? It doesn’t make sense to restrict casting to levels lower than that specified.  The druidic ceremony description is incorrect. The specific ceremonies noted can be cast by druids of the indicated level or higher, as with the clerical spell of the same name. 
 6DR117 Dragon #117 The illusionist spell phantom steed is listed as having a material component, but the component is not identified in the spell description. What should it be?  The material component for phantom steed is a small silver horseshoe. 
 7DR117 Dragon #117 The Dungeon Masters Guide states that there is no magical elfin chain mail, but sets of +1 and greater enchantment are listed in the Unearthed Arcana treasure section. Is this a mistake?  No. Due to popular demand, magical elfin chain mail has been officially added to the system. However, elfin chain mail, especially the magical types, should be kept suitably rare. It is made by remote elven communities, and should not be commonly available. Indeed, it is logical to assume that each suit of magical elfin chain mail was made for a specific individual, so some suits might actually be traceable to an original owner. 
 8DR117 Dragon #117 What is the availability and cost of a suit of elfin chain mail to an elf or half-elf?  That depends upon whether the character wants to have one custom-made or simply wants to find one to purchase. An elf could probably locate one or more elven artisans in a large elven community who would be willing to produce a custom-made suit for a hefty price, but there would certainly be a waiting list. The character would certainly be required to pay in advance or leave a large deposit, and it could be a decade or more before the work is even started. The total cost would depend upon the campaign economics, but should run at least five times the book price, including fitting and adjustment. Finding an elven craftsman capable of making such armor might be a chore, however — the DM must decide how difficult to make the job. An entire adventure could be built around finding craftsmen! Elfin chain mail which is found during an adventure might or might not be sized correctly, but would almost certainly need adjustment, as would pre-made elfin chain mail found in a magic shop. Elfin chainmail which is not specifically made for the character could probably be purchased for three to four times book price in a large city, but again, it would be hard to find. It would be logical to assume that the elven community would immediately try to buy back any such suits rumored to be on the general market for historical value alone, thus further reducing the supply. Elfin chain mail should almost never be found sized for humans or demi-humans other than elves. It is a safe bet to assume that each such suit in existence was made for a specific individual, probably as a gift for some great service to the elven community. Thus, such items should not be placed at random, and each should have a specific history. If an artisan willing to make a new suit for a non-elven character could be found, the price should be at least 10 times book value, due to unfamiliar sizing and extra materials. 
 9DR117 Dragon #117 My group allows only neutral characters. One of the players now wants to run an assassin, since nonevil assassins are now permitted according to the official update published in DRAGON® Magazine #103. How would I go about introducing such a character into an existing campaign?  Neutral and even good-aligned assassins are now possible according to the update. However, assassins must begin their careers as evil characters, presumably because to be interested in learning how to kill for money is deemed an evil outlook. Once started, however, they can change alignment to neutral, or even good. Despite the rules expansion, however, non-evil assassins are not recommended. Neutral assassins could certainly be handled with a mature group of players, but good assassins are too contradictory a concept for general use. Such a character might make an interesting NPC, championing a king’s cause from the shadows, but it would be a difficult thing to rationalize. Like the example of James Bond used in the update article (DRAGON issue #103), a good assassin might be the sort of character who doesn’t set off to kill, but may end up having to do so for the greater good. Note, however, that the vast majority of assassins are evil, and their guilds are most often likewise dedicated to the evil cause. Therefore, good-aligned assassins are frequently individuals who take the route of self-training, as guild training may be difficult to obtain. Likewise, even neutral characters might have difficulty dealing with an assassins’ guild for training. 
 10DR117 Dragon #117 Do strength bonuses count for hurled weapons such as daggers, spears, clubs, javelins, etc.?  Yes, though the DM may limit the application of full strength bonuses for small, light weapons such as daggers. 
Réponses 1 à 10 sur 680    ·   · 1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   ·  ·