Sage Advice Collection

Réponses 530 à 539 sur 680    ·   · 45.9   46.9   47.9   48.9   49.9   50.9   51.9   52.9   53.9   54.9   55.9   56.9   57.9   58.9   59.9   60.9   ·  ·   
  Ref  Ouvrage  Question   Reponse 
 530DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: Certain characters and monsters in the AD&D game have a natural ability to detect invisible creatures. How does this work in the BATTLESYSTEM supplement – is it an automatic ability?  According to page 60 of the DMG, the ability is almost automatic. A creature is “exposed to invisibility” if attacked by an invisible creature, actually looking right at the invisible creature, listening carefully for movement, etc. There are so many distractions on a battlefield, however, that no unit or hero can detect an invisible 1:1- scale figure unless given orders to do so and told where to look – that is, the player in charge of the opposing unit or hero must state that an attempt to locate an invisible foe is being made and where the figures are looking. If a unit is looking, roll once for the whole unit. Only the hero or unit that successfully makes the detection roll can “see” the invisible creature(s), although others may be told where to look. Invisible figures of greater than 1:1 scale, however, have a chance to be spotted if they simply cross a hero’s or unit’s line of sight. 
 531DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: When do heroes check morale? If a hero routs, who can rally him?  Heroes do not check morale using the BATTLESYSTEM supplement rules, and do not rout. If an NPC hero (or other single figure) is faced with a total disaster or extreme peril, he may flee or disobey orders according to the morale rules on pages 36-37 and page 67 of the DMG. It is best to have a neutral referee decide when NPC heroes check morale or obedience. 
 532DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: When a unit is forced into open order due to a failed morale check, does it pay a movement cost? When can it return to closed order? What happens if the unit is still in melee? What is the effect on a unit that has performed a wrap-around? Since wrap-around forces the unit into open order, wouldn’t the unit rout immediately?  The switch to open order is automatic; there is no movement. Melee or wraparound does not effect the change. The unit simply spreads out. This has no effect on the melee other than to reduce the number of figures in base-to-base contact. Units that perform wrap-arounds are not forced into open order until after the melee. If morale failure forces them into open order before that, there is no effect. 
 533DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: Where exactly will routing units go if there are enemy units between them and their own lines? Do they run toward their heroes or commanders? What happens if a routing unit encounters an impassable terrain feature such as a river?  Routing units move away from the cause of the rout along the path of least resistance. They go toward the point at which they entered the playing area, avoiding obstacles and enemy units along the way. When a routing unit encounters terrain that it cannot cross or enter, it moves along the edge of the feature in the direction that takes it away from the enemy. 
 534DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: What happens when a unit that has performed a wrap-around suffers a rout? Do the figures scatter? Or does the unit pay movement cost to “unwrap,” then rout directly away from the enemy?  Generally, the whole unit routs in the same direction. It doesn’t have to “unwrap” because it does not change formation. The main body of the unit routs directly away from the enemy, and the figures on the flanks follow. 
 535DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: Is there any way to stop a routing unit other than rallying it?  No, a unit continues to rout until it rallys or leaves the board. 
 536DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: Do routing units have to pay a movement penalty for the aboutface required to turn their backs to the enemy? Do they pay terrain costs when they move through woods or up hills?  Routing units do not pay for the change of facing. They ignore terrain modifiers as long as the terrain is passable. 
 537DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: If a routing unit’s path takes it past several commanders or heroes, can each commander attempt to rally the unit?  There may be only one attempt to rally a unit per rally phase, the number of commanders present notwithstanding. 
 538DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: General note on routs  There are so many variables affecting the actions of a routing unit that it is impossible to cover every possible situation. Players and referees must apply some common sense when adjudicating routs; just remember that a routing unit wants to get away from whatever caused it to rout, and will try to exit the battlefield at the same point that it entered. 
 539DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: The illustration on page 11 ([7.8]) of the BATTLESYSTEM rulebook shows a wheeling movement and gives the movement cost as 5”. Can a unit perform a double wheel and go twice as far, or half a wheel and go only half as far?  There is no fixed cost for wheeling; you have misinterpreted the example in the rules. A wheeling unit pivots on one of its “corners,” the cost of the wheel being determined by the total movement of the figure that is farthest from the pivot point. A unit may wheel as far as its movement allowance allows. The 5” cost shown on page 11 is just an example. 
Réponses 530 à 539 sur 680    ·   · 45.9   46.9   47.9   48.9   49.9   50.9   51.9   52.9   53.9   54.9   55.9   56.9   57.9   58.9   59.9   60.9   ·  ·   
Rechercher    

Sortir