| Ref | Ouvrage | Question | | Reponse |
---|
660. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: Is there any way to restore the
strength loss inflicted by shadows? | | No, but it only lasts eight turns. |
661. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: Will a rod of cancellation cancel
the power of magical creatures such
as gargoyles? | | No. |
662. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: I can?t find a description of the
devil swine anywhere. Was it left
out of the books? | | The devil swine appears on page 48 of
the Expert Rulebook. The devil swine
appears on page 30 of older editions of
this text. |
663. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: Can small rocs be used as mounts?
How much weight can a roc carry?
What class do rocs make Saving
Throws as? | | Rocs, being gigantic birds of prey, are
difficult to train as mounts no matter what
their size. While such training is possible,
it would be very expensive. Humans and
demi-humans can only tame the smallest
rocs as mounts. Giants might have some
success with the larger varieties. A small
roc can carry 5,000 cn without hindrance,
large rocs can carry 9,000 cn, and giant
rocs can carry 18,000 cn. A roc can carry
1½ times its base load and still fly at half
speed, but it must rest at least 20 minutes
for every hour that it flies. A roc can carry
up to twice its base load, but can only
walk at half speed. A roc makes Saving
Throws as a fighter of a level equal to the
roc's hit dice. See the Expert Rulebook,
page 55. |
664. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: What is a war horse? | | A war horse is a horse trained to carry a
person into combat. Compared with common
horses, they are courageous and
aggressive. Statistics for war horses are
given in the Expert Rulebook, page 51. |
665. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: How lawful can an unintelligent
repeater be? What magical properties
do its teeth have, and how many
teeth are there? | | A repeater is an intelligent creature -
thus its communication and power abilities.
"How lawful is it"- is an irrelevant
question. How lawful is a lawful character?
It is sufficient to say that repeaters
aren't the fanatics that archons are, since
a repeater's alignment arises mostly from
its association with the Sphere of Time.
Each repeater has 1d20 + 20 teeth; each
tooth may be ground up and added to a
potion (DM's option as to cost and time of
manufacture). Each potion, when imbibed,
allows the drinker to reflect power attacks
just as a repeater does for one round. The
potion lasts one turn, or until the reflection
power is used. See the DM's Guide to
Immortals, page 47. |
666. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: Why is no experience-point value
listed for the megalith? Do megaliths
have treasure? Where do they
keep it? | | A creature's experience-point value is
based on its hit dice. Since megaliths have
almost infinite hit dice, this system doesn't
work. PCs should get no experience for
seeking out and destroying these planetsized
creatures. In scenarios that require
PCs to combat and defeat megaliths, assign
an experience value on a case-by-case
basis. A megalith's treasure, if it has any at
all, is located in its mantle. See the DM's
Guide to Immortals, pages 42-43. |
667. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: What is the encumbrance of a spell
book? | | This is up to the DM, but 400 cn (backpack
size) is a good figure. |
668. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: What does a DM do when the PCs
get their hands on a magical item
that is too powerful for them? | | The DM has to contend with an out-of-balance
campaign until the item leaves the
game (by being destroyed, stolen, emptied
of charges, or sold), or until the party
gains enough experience to be on a par
with the item. |
669. | DR134 | Dragon #134 | D&D: What is a pocket of holding? | | A pocket of holding is similar in design
and function to a bag of holding. It is
permanently attached to a garment and
may not be removed without destroying
both the pocket and the garment. The
pocket can hold up to 10,000 cn, but it
weighs only 600 cn when full. The largest
item that can be placed in the pocket is
5" x 2" x 1". |