Sage Advice Collection

Réponses 400 à 409 sur 680    ·   · 32.9   33.9   34.9   35.9   36.9   37.9   38.9   39.9   40.9   41.9   42.9   43.9   44.9   45.9   46.9   47.9   ·  ·   
  Ref  Ouvrage  Question   Reponse 
 400DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: Do routing units have to pay a movement penalty for the aboutface required to turn their backs to the enemy? Do they pay terrain costs when they move through woods or up hills?  Routing units do not pay for the change of facing. They ignore terrain modifiers as long as the terrain is passable. 
 401DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: Where exactly will routing units go if there are enemy units between them and their own lines? Do they run toward their heroes or commanders? What happens if a routing unit encounters an impassable terrain feature such as a river?  Routing units move away from the cause of the rout along the path of least resistance. They go toward the point at which they entered the playing area, avoiding obstacles and enemy units along the way. When a routing unit encounters terrain that it cannot cross or enter, it moves along the edge of the feature in the direction that takes it away from the enemy. 
 402DR127 Dragon #127 BATTLESYSTEM™: How can 1" -wide BATTLESYSTEM supplement counters defend a castle wall?  Rules for handling sieges are included in module DL 8, Dragons of War (TSR 9141). If you don’t want to buy the module, simply build or draw your fortifications to the BATTLESYSTEM supplement ground scale and place your figures or counters on them, one counter deep. This is unrealistic, but it’s the easiest way to use fortifications with the game. If you’re a stickler for accuracy, place the counters one counter width apart from each other. This represents each counter’s personnel spread out along the wall. A unit deployed in this fashion is still considered to be in closed order. 
 403DR120 Dragon #120 D&D® Companion Set : There are no costs given for the new armors introduced in the Companion rules.  Scale mail armor costs 30 gp, and banded mail costs 50 gp. 
 404DR076 Dragon #76 What’s the difference between a secret and a concealed door?  Secret doors are constructed so that their function as a portal is not immediately obvious; false backs on fireplaces, revolving bookcases, and sliding sections of stonework are examples of this. Concealed doors are just doors hidden by an intervening object, like a tapestry, a stack of boxes, a door covered over with plaster, and so forth. 
 405DR071 Dragon #71 ASTRAL, GENERAL TOPICS: How are psionics and psionic powers affected by travelling the Astral Plane?  See DRAGON #67 for comments on astral projection and probability travel. As for other disciplines, body equilibrium affects the user as per a feather fall spell; cell adjustment allows healing astrally; mind over body, suspend animation, dimension walk, and etherealness have no effect if used astrally; and teleportation is described further as per the spell teleport in DRAGON #67 and in this article. All other psionic attacks, defenses, and disciplines function as normal or as similar magical spells do, as described in the original article. Psionic strength points are recovered at a varying rate, as follows: points recovered during hard exertion (fighting), none; when moving by mental effort, 6 pts/hour; when “floating” without thinking of moving, 12 pts/hour. 
 406DR076 Dragon #76 Numerous modules refer to a game called knucklebones. How is this played in terms of the AD&D game?  See the DMG, Appendix F, for a brief description of gambling games that could be used within a scenario. 
 407DR121 Dragon #121 Oriental Adventures : The subdual rules indicate that it is preferable for shukenja to subdue their opponents rather than slay them. Does this mean that shukenja get full experience for creatures subdued?  Shukenja are not supposed to be aggressive, except toward evil spirits. They receive half experience for other opponents that they defeat by any means. 
 408DR054 Dragon #54 When a character attacks a skeleton with a piercing weapon, is the character’s strength-damage adjustment added to the number of points of damage inflicted on the creature?  Skeletons take half damage from attacks by sharp weapons -in other words, half of the points of damage that would have been suffered by a creature which does not have that partial protection. The result of the attack is computed normally, the bonus to damage (if any) is added to the full result, and then the damage points are halved. For example, a character with strength 18 (+2 to damage) hits a skeleton with his long sword and does 4 points of damage with the weapon. The skeleton will take 3 points of damage from that attack (4 + 2 equals 6, divided by 2 equals 3), as opposed to the 6 points of damage it would inflict on a creature which is fully vulnerable to edged weapons. 
 409DR037 Dragon #37 My character is a 9th-level Druid changed to a Magic-User (he is now 10th level as a M-U). I want to be able to put my previously owned Apparatus of Kwalish inside my newly acquired Mighty Servant of Leuk-O. Then I would have the ultimate weapon: If the need arose, I could abandon the Mighty Servant and escape via the Apparatus of Kwalish. My ability scores are Str 13, Int 18(83), Wis 18(90), Dex 12, Con 11, Cha 18(84) and MR 10 (mental resistance, a trait our group uses for psionic combat). He has an unbelievable 338 psionic points! Is it possible for my character to change classes a third time? He wants to become a Cleric. He is not content to just be able to cast Druid and M-U spells. Is there any way for this to happen? Also, if he changes alignment (not of his choosing) from neutral, does he lose his Druid powers? Our DM is very big on traps that change alignments.  Skip Williams picked up this letter to answer, and the next thing I knew he was scampering for a hiding place. Wondering what scared him (because not very much does), I picked up the letter. My first reaction was IIIIIIIEEEEEE!!!! No, I don’t recommend that you place the Apparatus in the Mighty Servant. We don’t believe it would fit, and your DM shouldn’t allow you to do it even if it does fit. It wouldn’t be possible to operate the Mighty Servant with the Apparatus inside it, and if your DM lets you do it, he’s a fool. I think he’s foolish anyway to let you have those magic items in the first place. Now, for your error concerning ability scores. The only score that may exceed 18 is strength. I don’t know where you got the idea that others could. (Editor’s note: Ability scores besides strength exceed 18 only in the cases of deities or legendary or hypothetical characters, such as those in Giants of the Earth.) As for the loss of neutral alignment, yes, your Druid ability would also be lost. Now here’s a question for you: Have you ever thought of retiring this character if you are so restless and want to keep changing classes? It is possible to have more than one character at a time in a campaign, you know. If you insist on changing, there is no reason why you cannot switch classes again—but you can’t become a Cleric, since you already are a Druid and Druid is a subclass of Cleric. 
Réponses 400 à 409 sur 680    ·   · 32.9   33.9   34.9   35.9   36.9   37.9   38.9   39.9   40.9   41.9   42.9   43.9   44.9   45.9   46.9   47.9   ·  ·